Popcorn Bytes

I like movie trailers. So sue me.

“In Time” Trailer: A World Where Time Is Money! Really! (No, Seriously. It’s Money.)

leave a comment »

When you think “action hero”, does your mind say “Justin Timberlake”? For me it doesn’t, but maybe In Time it will. (see what I did there?) The movie stars Timberlake and massive-eyed Amanda Seyfried as two people in a world where time really is used as currency. Nobody lives past 25, and rich people can live forever. (Even in alternate realities, rich people always get it good.)

Timberlake plays Will Salas, and the production notes do a pretty good job of explaining the story, so I’ll just put them here. (Lazy. I know.)

When Will Salas is falsely accused of murder, he must figure out a way to bring down a system where time is money – literally – enabling the wealthy to live forever while the poor, like Will, have to beg, borrow, and steal enough minutes to make it through another day.

It’s a nice idea, one that we haven’t really seen. I also like the lighting used in the trailer; it gives the movie an especially foreboding look. Cillian Murphy (Inception, Red Eye) also stars in the movie, and I like him; he plays a good bad guy.

Some parts of the trailer reminded me of other movies, though, like the scene with T-Lake and Seyfried in the car reminded me of the Transporter movies. Most of Fox/Regency’s films haven’t really been hits, though, and like I said, I can’t really believe Justin Timberlake as an action hero.

This movie looks interesting enough to catch on DVD, but not for the theaters. In Time hits theaters on October 28th.

Written by prowlermoviepoll

August 3, 2011 at 7:38 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

