Popcorn Bytes

I like movie trailers. So sue me.

“Moneyball”: Cue Echo-y Inspirational Guitar Music

leave a comment »

I’m not a sports fan, but I didn’t let that get me down watching the trailer for Moneyball. The movie was originally going to be directed by Steven Soderbergh, but Sony didn’t like his version of the movie and chose Bennett Miller (from Capote) instead. I would’ve preferred Soderbergh, but I guess Miller is okay.

The movie stars Brad Pitt as Billy Beane, the manager of Oakland’s baseball team, the Oakland A’s. Fed up with the rules of traditional baseball, he attempts to revolutionize the game with the help of Jonah Hill, who usually plays the loser sidekick but now plays a baseball expert–but still has that loser-ish feel.

Moneyball looks okay, but I bet if I were a baseball fan I’d like it better. What amazes me, though, is not the movie itself. It’s the studio–Sony Pictures, and their wide variety of films they’re making. Sony can put out this inspirational sports drama, a zany comedy like 30 Minutes or Less, and an awful-looking family film like The Smurfs all at the same time.

It’s pretty…inspirational. (In a way.)

Moneyball hits a home run into theaters on September 23rd.

Written by prowlermoviepoll

June 16, 2011 at 7:31 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

