Popcorn Bytes

I like movie trailers. So sue me.

The Karate Kid (2010 Remake) (Trailer)

with 2 comments

Here’s a trailer for the remake of the movie The Karate Kid, starring Jaden Smith (Will’s son). He plays a young boy who is always the target of bullying, until an “eccentric” kung fu master (Jackie Chan) teaches him to stand up for himself. It actually looks okay, but the bully looks like a third-grader, almost. What’s up with that?

Written by prowlermoviepoll

January 6, 2010 at 3:24 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have been in Kung Fu for over 15 years and have my own studio now. I was excited at first when I heard there was going to be a new Karate Kid because it was the first movie that got me interested in Martial Arts. However when I learned Jackie Chan was a star in "The Karate Kid" I had to check it out fast. It turns out the boy in the film is forced to move to China with his mom and when he gets there a bully who knows Kung fu beats him up. Even though he knows apparently a little Karate he is overwelmed and Jackie Chan steps in to help and saves the boy (Jaden) and begins to teach him KUNG FU. I say this in bold because although the movie states that he knew a little Karate(Which is only in the description on the website not the actual trailer)he actually in fact learns Kung Fu and that is what is apparently going to save him in the plot of this movie. I have to say I am very disappointed in everyone involved but mostly of Jackie Chan. This saddens me the most because he is one of my favorite Martial Artist and Film Stars. Here is the reason for my concern, Americans in general always get Martial Arts mixed up with Karate because that is the only Martial Art most Americans know. I can not tell you how many people come to our Kung Fu Studio and call what we do Karate. Every Martial Arts has morphed into Karate in the American mind. We claim to be a literate and unrasicist society. We cry out when people unknowingly call a Japanese person Chinese or a Spanard a Mexican. But when a major corporation (that is Asian based) brings a movie called "The Karate Kid" to America and the story falls in China with a Kung fu master that is ok? So now if a child goes to see "The Karate Kid" in 2010 and decides off of what they see in the movie they want to take Martial Arts they are going to say "Mom I want to take Karate", because that is what the movie is called. This is just cause for more confusion in a subject that already has problems in being clear cut in our society. It is greatly unfair to schools that practice the arts in which the movie is truly about. Unfortunately nothing is ever done about these things, major corporations in the Martial Arts business are mainly Japanese Art based and I feel because of this things like (a corporation I will not mention's name in this) Muay Thai Short's (a Thai Martial Art) get Kanji letters put on them (a Japanese lettering system). Some may think I am over reacting but in the long run things like this just breed ignorance. I am not even Asian and I am offended.

    Amanda

    January 18, 2010 at 5:53 AM


Leave a Reply

